Dear you

by jemfinch

Hi.

Wanna know something?

 

I love you. I really do. You’re one of the best things that has ever happened to me. You’re an amazing friend and I love being around you and talking to you and sharing things with you…

but now I’m starting to doubt everything. I’m scared the peak of our friendship has come and gone…

for good. And I’m hoping each time I text you or message you a hello or a ‘how are you’ that you’d start telling me lots of stories and how you wish you’d shared some of them with me…

just one or two, you know. I hope I’m not asking for too much…

but what I get is really just how you feel: good, bad, sleepy, hungry, okay. My question about how you’re doing is more than that really…

and I was hoping to get a lengthier answer because then I’m encouraged to tell long stories of my own. But all I get is one adjective every time…

so I forget about it and now I’m trying to forget about you for a while. And as pathetic as it sounds…

I’m hoping you’ll soon miss me.

 

No matter how temporary that will be.

‘Cause I just really want to talk to someone.

And I don’t know why you’re the first person I want to talk to.

I think it’s unfair.

To you and to me.

